Falling for Fall

wallpapers-fall-biking-trees-leaves

Autumn…the year’s last, loveliest smile.
-William Cullen Bryant

The kayaks and camping gear are put away.  Our skin no longer glowing from our ample time in the sun.  The kids’ sunscreen and chlorine stained skin now smells of long days at school and sweat.  Long sleeves have taken up space in the drawers that once held shorts and tanks.  The entryway is now littered with tennis shoes and book bags.  Grass stained football uniforms soak in SHOUT and cheer uniforms hang to dry in the laundry room.  Our unfolded sock basket overflows.  Spelling words, good grades, and priceless preschool artwork cover our fridge.  Homework and flashcards lay about.  The grass needs cut less frequently and the leaves are turning and falling.  Weekends consist of Friday night lights, donning red on Saturdays, and church on Sundays.

Routine has found its familiar way back into our home.
It is welcome here. 

Fall has been my favorite season for as long as I can remember.  The weather could not be more perfect.  It’s not unpredictable like spring, harsh like winter or humid like summer.  It’s warm enough during the day and crisp in the evening…so lovely.
Fall brings out the best in people.  It’s the season of gratitude and thanksgiving.  People are mindful and often vocal about what they’re thankful for this time of the year.    I absolutely love seeing people show love and gratitude.  I wholeheartedly believe that a grateful heart is a happy heart.
I love the aromas and tastes of falls…and all things pumpkin!  And the colors…so many beautiful colors everywhere.
I love wearing layers and snuggling around a fire.  I love warming up with a cup of spiced tea or coffee.  I love that the high-pace of summer slows significantly in the fall.  Perhaps to take in the beauty that is around us.  I’ve always considered fall the season of change.  The leaves change in a sort-of magical way.  One thing I know will never change – I will never fall out of love with fall.
Fall has found its familiar way back into my heart.
It is welcome here. 

 

 

 

 

Author: peaceandpuddles

I am a DIYer, coffee-lover, baby-kisser and big fan of chocolate. I am a stay at home wife to 1 sweet man and 5 awesome kids! Blessed. Full Heart.

4 thoughts on “Falling for Fall”

Leave a Reply

